Benjamin Godfrey House

Historical renovation at its best. The new portion of the home mimics the antique portion with modern comforts.

Chatham Historical Renovation

The Benjamin Godfrey house was first deeded in 1789 when it was conveyed to Benjamin Godfrey from George Bearse. There are no documents showing the actual build date. Benjamin Godfrey was the town grist mill operator, located north of the property, and lived in the house until he passed in 1818. The house was then owned by Christopher Taylor, who was raised by the Godfrey family. After several owners it was purchased by Charles Atwood in 1907 until 1947 when Mrs. Atwood died and the property was purchased by Colonel A.H. Alexander who lived in the house until 1970. The house was then purchased by Mr. and Mrs. Wayne Elliot.  The home was purchased by Timothy R. Smith in 2010 with the goal of maintaining the integrity of the structure while adding a new life to the home and unique property which includes many plant species as well as the only known Sequoia Redwood tree on Cape Cod. The home was caringly raised from the original stone foundation and held while a new foundation was installed. After lowering the home the restoration began. True to the history of the structure no material which could be salvage was removed from the home and all floor joists which consist of pine trees, with bark intact, remain in place reinforced with modern lumber. All interior finishes in the original home were maintained and restored along with the wide plank flooring, wainscoting and beautiful coffered ceilings as well as doors, built-ins and the central fireplace. The new portion of the home mimics the antique portion with modern comforts.

Cape Cod Life Southern New England Home Chatham Historical Society Preservation Award Winner Chatham Chamber of Commerce
Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!